Large disasters may ripple across cities, regions or even nationally through interconnected critical infrastructure systems.
Right now, many of those connections are invisible, making it very difficult to put effective mitigation strategies in place. Critical links are often uncovered too late, causing greater impacts to infrastructure and challenging recovery efforts on the ground.
Join us for the Resilience Week 2021 Symposium to discuss how private and public partners can work together to ensure a secure and reliable flow of energy across the nation.



  • Call for Special Sessions & Workforce Development Submissions – CLOSED
    • Submissions due:  June 21
    • Acceptance notification:  June 28
    • Special Session & Workforce Development Submission Site – CLOSED
  • Call for Papers – CLOSED
    • Submissions due:  July 12
    • Acceptance notification:  September 7
    • Final paper submissions due:  September 30
    • Paper Submission Site

Call for Submissions Flyer

Presentation and Publication Guidance

RW PowerPoint Template

Guidelines for Chairs

Topical Areas

Elements of Resilience

Accepting Special Session Proposals and Papers

Control Systems

Chairs: Kevin Schultz, Johns Hopkins App. Physics Lab — Quanyan Zhu, New York University — Kris Villez, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Topical areas include: anomaly detection, adaptive, fault-tolerant, and resilient control systems; distributed and robust sensing; monitoring/control security; data analytics and machine learning for control and optimization, diagnostic and prognostic tools, computational intelligence; cyber-physical power and energy systems; robotic systems; cyber-physical system security; cybersecurity for industrial control systems; autonomous cyber defense; internet of things; intelligent transportation systems; control of critical infrastructures; smart manufacturing and smart health.

Cyber Systems

Chairs: Char Sample, Idaho National Laboratory — David Manz, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory — Nate Evans, Argonne National Laboratory

Topical areas include: cyber architecture; human machine interaction and cyber social understanding; human systems design, human and systems behavior; education and workforce development; sensor architectures; data fusion; computational intelligence; resilient cyber frameworks and architectures, adaptive/ agile/ moving defenses; resilient cyber-physical power and energy systems

Cognitive Systems

Chairs: Katya Le Blanc, Idaho National Laboratory — Nathan Lau, Virginia Tech — Roger Lew, University of Idaho

Topical areas include: selection, training and performance in complex sociotechnical systems; human performance models of event response; cognitive readiness in high-consequence environments, macroergonomics, systems design, and safety, human factors of security, privacy, and trust, situated cognition in cyber, physical, and hybrid environments, procedures, checklists, and skilled performance, human supervisory control and complex systems performance; distributed cognition, expertise coordination, and teamwork; human-machine interaction with automation, computers, and robots, and autonomous and semi-autonomous systems/technology.

Communications Systems

Chairs: Brad Nelson, Idaho National Laboratory — Eyuphan Bulut, Virginia Commonwealth University — Kemal Akkaya, Florida International University

Topical areas include: architectures, threats and failures, remediation and recovery, characterization, experiments and measurements, networks and infrastructure, military applications, civil applications, security, privacy and trust in communications, communications for cyber-physical systems (including but not limited to: power transmission and distribution, transportation, autonomous vehicles, aerial networks, industrial automation, building management systems, health care, agriculture, logistics, etc.), cloud, edge and fog computing.

Complex Environments

Accepting Special Session Proposals and Papers


Chairs: Abraham Ellis, Sandia National Laboratories — Ray Byrne, Sandia National Laboratories — Emma Stewart, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association – Stephanie Pilkington, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Topical areas include: governance and resilience policy; temporary housing, impacts on affordable housing, and long term housing recovery; effects of human factors in recovery; intersection of social and physical vulnerability; business interruption and interruption of critical social services and institutions; models, metrics and systematic approaches to resilience planning; interdisciplinary approaches to resilience; capacity building and sustainability challenges; role of distributed community-based assets (utility and customer owned, including social services and the local economy) in recovery; resilience assessment methodologies and incorporation of sociotechnical approaches; application of advanced visualization methodologies (e.g., geospatial and virtual reality) that enhance critical infrastructure analysis reports and information sharing processes; and techniques to improve critical infrastructure resilience to all-hazards.

Committee Members

Craig RiegerIdaho National LaboratoryGeneral Chair
Justin WelchIdaho National LaboratoryDeputy General Chair
Jodi GrgichIdaho National LaboratoryGeneral Organizing Chair
Tim McJunkinIdaho National LaboratoryTechnical Program Chair
Eleanor TaylorIdaho National LaboratoryWorkforce Development Chair
Kevin SchultzJohns Hopkins App. Physics LabControl Systems Program Chair
Quanyan ZhuNew York UniversityControl Systems Program Chair
Kris VillezOak Ridge National LaboratoryControl Systems Review Chair
Char SampleIdaho National LaboratoryCyber Systems Program Chair
David ManzPacific Northwest National LaboratoryCyber Systems Program Chair
Nate EvansArgonne National LaboratoryCyber Systems Review Chair
Katya Le BlancIdaho National LaboratoryCognitive Systems Program Chair
Nathan LauVirginia TechCognitive Systems Review Chair
Roger LewUniversity of IdahoCognitive Systems Program Chair
Brad NelsonIdaho National LaboratoryCommunications Systems Program Chair
Eyuphan BulutVirginia Commonwealth UniversityCommunications Systems Program Chair
Kemal AkkayaFlorida International UniversityCommunications Systems Review Chair
Abraham EllisSandia National LaboratoriesCommunities and Infrastructures Program Chair
Ray ByrneSandia National LaboratoriesCommunities and Infrastructures Review Chair
Emma StewartNational Rural Electric Cooperative AssociationCommunities and Infrastructures Program Chair
Stephanie PilkingtonThe University of North Carolina at CharlotteCommunities and Infrastructures Program Chair

3 + 1 =